Bits and Pieces

I know it’s been weeks since I last posted something new, and I really don’t want to end up posting once a year. So, although I have not made any progress on my reading, I will give you a glimpse of my week!

I am currently obsessed with a greek youtuber whom I just discovered -but I think everyone in Greece already knew about- and since she’s been posting her videos for 4 years now, I have plenty of material to catch up on. Her name is Mara and you can find her channel here. She also has an international one in english. The majority of her uploads are make-up and hair tutorials, but I got to know her from some books/movies review videos she makes. She is so much fun to watch and she is also a cat lady. Enough said!

I recently went to the cinema to watch Inarritu’s “The Revenant” with Leonardo DiCaprio and Tom Hardy. Well, you know. The movie that everyone’s talking about because it’s supposed to finally earn DiCaprio an Oscar. I must say I was not impressed. Sure the photography was great and the plot not too bad, but it was tiring. So tiring that I had been wondering how many days was I sitting in that chair. If the director had cut the sunset/sunrise/forest/snow/river/sky scenes, there would be just an hour of the movie left. Another contributory factor to the weariness of it, was that there were not many scenes in which the actors talked. DiCaprio was flawless – as always – but the one I really think should get an Oscar is Tom Hardy – maybe because he had more lines – !

Oh and I just thought of a book-related topic! Yesterday I found out that I had won a first, signed copy of Auguste’s Corteau new book “Ο άνθρωπος που έτρωγε πολλά” – meaning “The man who ate a lot” and I was over the moon! I will show it to you once I actually get my hands on it. I have never read anything of his, but I am already a huge fan because of his activism regarding the LGBT community.

Hope you’re having a great week!

 

One thought on “Bits and Pieces

Leave a Reply

