Something bookish

Lumos!
Lately I’ve been spending a little too much time on Amazon and consequently several packages arrive at my door step every now and then! I recently read an article about the 30 best fantasy series of all time -according to the author- and as I was scrolling down, I came across “The Chronicles of Prydain” by Lloyd Alexander. When I read the description and saw that it’s the series that Disney’s “The Black Cauldron” is based on -not one of my favorites but it’s Disney nevertheless-, I didn’t even think twice before ordering it. Actually the series consists of five books, so I got two volumes which include the first three and last two books.

The plot is about Hen Wen, a pig that can foresee things, in a land that evil kings and mischievous witches long for power. When Hen Wen vanishes, Taran, a pig-keeper assistant will embark on a dangerous journey to find her, as she is the only one who can keep the land safe. I have only read about fifty pages and I quite like it- I’m sure my 14-year-old self would have loved it!

prydain

One thing you should know about me is that I have an obsession with Ancient Egypt -as a genuine cat that I am- and I am interested in learning as much as I can about that magical era in history! Thus I thought I should start from the beginning and get to really know  about people’s lives from a book that I can understand. I’m talking about “The Ancient Egyptians for Dummies”- I do not consider myself a dummy but I think it is best to perfect the basics and put all those things about Egypt that are scattered in my head, in an order-.

egypt

What are you currently reading?
Till next time,
Nox!

P.S. Did you know that despite the belief that slaves built the pyramids, the truth is that  egyptian farmers did? For several months through the year, Nile overflowed and covered the land with water, so farmers were employed by the state to take part in the momuments’ building, as they had no land to work on for that time.

6 thoughts on “Something bookish

  1. Αχά! that is so interesting!!! i used to be obsessed with ancient Egypt, too, I wanted to be an archaeologist and discover Nefertiti’s tomb when I was younger! It is a fascinating era of history I think!

    Have a nice weekend!
    xxx

    Like

  2. As a child I used to adore anything that reminded me of Egypt. Did you know that when a cat died the whole family which cat belonged was in mourning?Literally. I love the books you talked about. When we met I though meh, it didnt sound that interesting, but damn!A pig ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

